NJ.com – I felt the ‘Bern.’ So what do I do now? | Opinion

By Junius Williams

I watched Senator Bernie Sanders’ announcement that he was suspending his campaign for the presidency of the United States with the same emotion I felt with Jesse Jackson’s concession speech at the 1988 Democratic Party Convention in Atlanta Georgia on behalf of the Rainbow Coalition. I felt then America lost an opportunity to become the great inclusionary democracy his campaign promised the world it would be. I feel that same sadness today.

I was one of those people who felt the “Bern” right down into my pocketbook by helping create that average contribution of $18 given by millions of contributors. So now that we don’t have a candidate, where do we go?

Let me explain demographically who I am: Since I started voting in the 1960s, I have voted for the Democratic Party although I consider myself to be an Independent. I vote for Democrats because when compared with Republicans, I think I will at least get something out of the deal. But with few exceptions, Democrats don’t deliver what I really want, such as housing for the poor, universal health care for all, debt free college tuition, racial justice, fuller employment and environmentally friendly conservation plans. These are the things deemed “liberal” for those of us going into the voting booth, holding our breadths and hoping against hope that something good will come out of this for all of us, and not just for the privileged in this country.

Most of the time, we are disappointed. We are told, “It’s the best we can get now.” Or, “We can expand on what we have later on.” Or, “We can do better for more people, but change takes time.” So like good soldiers, we persevere and therefore when it comes the next time to vote for president, we endure the debates, the promises, the comparisons, the pundits, the advertisements and go through the same process again. We are the disciplined voters.

We are the older voters, some of whom remember when we couldn’t vote; when by the law or common practice, entire sectors of the American public were blocked from voting or the weight of our votes minimized by all kinds of systems of exclusion. So out we come, pushing that big rock up the hill, standing out even in Corona-drenched rain, to cast our ballots in hope for some modicum of change for the better. Some of us went to jail for that right; we know people who died for that right. So we show up no matter what. We have a name for who we are: We are the people who vote for the lesser of two evils.

We are the disciplined people upon whom the Democrats most depend to win elections. Most of us are not ideologically driven; we are not that angry; we are not polarized by racism; nor against immigrants, gays, women or anybody else. Unlike the political right in this country who are driven in their frenzy to worship at the polling booth for some person to take America forward by going back into the dark ages of human oppression. We vote to keep them out of the White House, and not for what we really want or need.

But along come the younger generations — our children and grandchildren — who are relatively new or brand new to voting. They actually dare pin their hopes on something that is good, rather than just getting rid of the bad. They get behind a candidate who says, “We have to fight for it,” rather than, “That’s too hard to achieve.” They want a president who says, “It’s possible to change,” rather than one who says, “Let’s go on the way we’ve been going.” For the thousands of mostly young Americans like this who don’t see any plan beyond Bernie’s to make their lives better, how do the Democrats expect them to do what my generation has grown so accustomed to doing: vote because we’re supposed to, vote to make things not so bad?

I will vote for Joe Biden. But what are the Democrats going to do to get those mostly young, idealistic, angry, disgusted, clear thinking, and hungry-for-solutions voters to do the same?

President Trump has an army of supercharged true believers, and Joe Biden has his army who wants to get rid of Trump. It’s going to be a test to see whose army is big enough and motivated enough to get to the polls to cast their votes. Let’s hope the leadership of the Democratic Party has some changes in mind that will make the former Bernie voters see the good, rather than just what Trump does that’s bad.

Junius Williams, Esq., is Newark’s historian and author of “Unfinished Agenda, Urban Politics in the Era of Black Power.”

View Original Article on NJ.com

99 Comments

  • CBD gummies for anxiety Posted February 15, 2021 4:44 am

    I think that everything said was very logical.
    But, what about this? what if you were to create a awesome title?
    I mean, I don’t want to tell you how to run your website,
    but suppose you added something that makes people desire more?

    I mean NJ.com – I felt the ‘Bern.’ So what do I do now?

    | Opinion – Writer is kinda plain. You might look at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they write article headlines to get viewers to open the links.
    You might add a video or a picture or two to get people excited about everything’ve
    written. In my opinion, it could bring your blog a little livelier.

  • erotik Posted February 16, 2021 1:14 pm

    Sit amet velit metus. Proin posuere, ligula nec porttitor eget luctus, risus lectus tristique ligula, quis vivam pretium elit diam a nisi. Proin vehicula malesuada dolor, vel rutrum. quam sollicitudin. Maressa Rockwell Akeylah

  • turkce Posted February 16, 2021 4:23 pm

    Hey There. I found your blog the usage of msn. That is a really well written article. Kippy Haily Torrell

  • buy CBD oil Posted February 20, 2021 3:42 pm

    Yesterday, while I was at work, my sister stole my iphone and tested to see if
    it can survive a 30 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube
    sensation. My apple ipad is now broken and she has 83 views.
    I know this is totally off topic but I had to share it
    with someone!

  • CBD for sale Posted February 20, 2021 5:30 pm

    Thanks for your marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it, you’re a great
    author.I will remember to bookmark your blog and definitely will
    come back someday. I want to encourage you to ultimately
    continue your great posts, have a nice evening!

  • bursa escort Posted March 1, 2021 9:03 pm

    Hola Juli, excelente. Me encantaron tus opuestos, te felicito, Saludos!! Kassia Willem Bouton

  • bursa escort Posted March 2, 2021 12:38 am

    I think the problem for me is the energistically benchmark focused growth strategies via superior supply chains. Compellingly reintermediate mission-critical potentialities whereas cross functional scenarios. Phosfluorescently re-engineer distributed processes without standardized supply chains. Quickly initiate efficient initiatives without wireless web services. Interactively underwhelm turnkey initiatives before high-payoff relationships. Margarita Arvie Celesta

  • erotik Posted March 2, 2021 3:04 am

    Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is excellent, let alone the content! Lezlie Ferdy Yuma

  • erotik Posted March 2, 2021 6:18 am

    You could certainly see your enthusiasm in the work you write. Ronda Dunc Dorfman

  • web cam sex free Posted March 5, 2021 3:55 am

    Some genuinely choice posts on this internet site , saved to fav. Elinore Marijn Hobbs

  • my blogs Posted March 5, 2021 7:06 am

    I enjoy looking through an article that can make men and women think. Also, thanks for permitting me to comment! Sally Ciro Agata

  • 0mniartist Posted April 8, 2021 5:08 am

    Hey terrific blog! Does running a blog like this require a
    massive amount work? I’ve very little expertise
    in computer programming but I had been hoping to start my own blog in the
    near future. Anyways, if you have any suggestions or
    techniques for new blog owners please share. I know this is off topic nevertheless I simply needed to ask.

    Cheers! asmr 0mniartist

  • 0mniartist Posted April 8, 2021 9:03 am

    I am really enjoying the theme/design of your site. Do you
    ever run into any internet browser compatibility issues?

    A small number of my blog readers have complained about my
    site not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Chrome.

    Do you have any solutions to help fix this issue? asmr 0mniartist

  • 0mniartist Posted April 8, 2021 10:15 pm

    It’s going to be finish of mine day, but before finish I am reading this wonderful article to improve my experience.

    0mniartist asmr

  • 0mniartist Posted April 9, 2021 6:59 am

    Simply desire to say your article is as astounding.
    The clearness in your post is just great and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject.
    Fine with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please carry on the enjoyable work.
    0mniartist asmr

  • 0mniartist Posted April 9, 2021 3:40 pm

    Hi there! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist
    with SEO? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not
    seeing very good success. If you know of any please share.
    Appreciate it! 0mniartist asmr

  • Roscoe Posted April 18, 2021 2:42 am

    Hello to all, because I am actually eager of reading
    this blog’s post to be updated daily. It carries fastidious data.

  • delta 8 CBD Posted July 2, 2021 7:08 pm

    I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your site.
    Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility issues?
    A couple of my blog readers have complained about my site not
    operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox.
    Do you have any advice to help fix this issue?

    Visit my blog post; delta 8 CBD

  • Leanne Posted July 22, 2021 12:16 am

    I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly.

    I am quite certain I’ll learn many new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  • Penney Posted July 22, 2021 5:09 am

    Heya just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the images aren’t
    loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think
    its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same results.

  • Junko Posted July 22, 2021 9:59 pm

    Hi there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform
    are you using for this website? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because
    I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform.
    I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a
    good platform.

  • Luther Posted July 24, 2021 11:31 pm

    First of all I would like to say wonderful blog! I had a quick
    question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and
    clear your mind prior to writing. I have had a tough time clearing my mind in getting my ideas
    out. I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to
    15 minutes are lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any
    recommendations or tips? Many thanks!

  • Ethel Posted August 8, 2021 5:45 pm

    Hey there would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re
    working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different
    browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.
    Can you suggest a good internet hosting
    provider at a reasonable price? Many thanks, I appreciate it!

  • Will Posted August 10, 2021 8:53 pm

    This piece of writing will assist the internet visitors for
    creating new web site or even a weblog from start to end.

  • Orville Posted August 11, 2021 10:02 pm

    I was able to find good advice from your blog posts.

  • Chance Posted August 12, 2021 2:30 am

    Hi there to every body, it’s my first pay a visit of this blog; this weblog contains amazing and in fact excellent
    material for visitors.

  • Dwight Posted August 30, 2021 8:02 pm

    I think this is one of the most vital info for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But want to remark on few general things, The site style is wonderful, the articles is really
    nice : D. Good job, cheers

  • Nan Posted August 30, 2021 8:08 pm

    I think this is among the most vital info for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on some
    general things, The site style is ideal, the articles is really
    excellent : D. Good job, cheers

  • wordpress Posted September 9, 2021 2:36 am

    Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog.
    Is it hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very
    techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to start.
    Do you have any tips or suggestions? Many
    thanks

  • Polecam doskonały blog erotyczny Posted October 31, 2021 12:46 am

    A workout the camera with fraudulent as well as operate this sort of likewise realized magazines at!
    Miles, the challenge in a very different ladies seduce you can bear joy
    here your ex, through daylight only says towards the person with ladies,
    the; nature support away will be the training ended up being prominent intensity to help improve the concern he experiences that your lover
    encountered become by flirtomatic with by, February, especially if we ought to:
    Just how to help contain sharply shaped their engagement the Dallas Fort
    Worth.

  • Bradleyadove Posted October 31, 2021 6:05 am

    ivermectin 3mg tablets http://stromectolivermectin19.com/# ivermectin for humans
    ivermectin pills human

  • Bradleyadove Posted October 31, 2021 8:01 am

    ivermectin 8000 http://stromectolivermectin19.online# ivermectin 1mg
    ivermectin 10 mg

  • Johnnienoink Posted November 1, 2021 1:21 am

    ivermectin cream cost ivermectin for humans – ivermectin 5

  • Johnnienoink Posted November 1, 2021 1:44 am

    cost of ivermectin pill ivermectin for sale – ivermectin uk coronavirus

  • Johnnienoink Posted November 1, 2021 6:02 pm

    how much does ivermectin cost ivermectin for humans – cost of ivermectin pill

  • Johnnienoink Posted November 1, 2021 6:36 pm

    ivermectin ivermectin 6 – ivermectin cost canada

  • RodneyJak Posted November 4, 2021 7:20 am

    online pharmacy search usa pharmacy online – canadian pharmacies online

  • RodneyJak Posted November 4, 2021 7:45 am

    ivermectin oral solution ivermectin oral – ivermectin price comparison

  • RodneyJak Posted November 4, 2021 11:11 pm

    mexican pharmacy canadian pharmacy online ship to usa – pharmacy online australia free shipping

  • RodneyJak Posted November 4, 2021 11:36 pm

    international pharmacy no prescription canadian pharmacy sarasota – pharmacy rx

  • RodneyJak Posted November 5, 2021 3:43 pm

    ivermectin 3mg ivermectin drg – ivermectin otc

  • RodneyJak Posted November 5, 2021 4:11 pm

    canadian online pharmacy drugs without doctor canadadrg – prescription drugs without doctor approval

  • RodneyJak Posted November 6, 2021 9:17 am

    cheap generic drugs from india overseas pharmacies shipping to usa – medication from india

  • RodneyJak Posted November 6, 2021 9:43 am

    international online pharmacy canada pharmacy safedrg – viagra canadian pharmacy vipps approved

  • Levi Posted November 6, 2021 11:59 pm

    Hello everybody, here every person is sharing these kinds of familiarity, thus it’s
    good to read this web site, and I used to pay a quick visit
    this webpage daily.

  • RodneyJak Posted November 7, 2021 2:33 am

    ivermectin pills canada stromectol drg – stromectol ivermectin

  • RodneyJak Posted November 7, 2021 2:59 am

    stromectol ivermectin 3 mg ivermectin drg – ivermectin 10 mg

  • RodneyJak Posted November 7, 2021 7:33 pm

    generic drugs india order online trusted india online pharmacies – online pharmacy

  • RodneyJak Posted November 7, 2021 7:58 pm

    overseas pharmacies shipping to usa cheap generic drugs from india – trusted india online pharmacies

  • RodneyJak Posted November 8, 2021 1:10 pm

    stromectol ivermectin 3 mg ivermectin 12 – ivermectin syrup

  • RodneyJak Posted November 8, 2021 1:37 pm

    ivermectin cream 1% ivermectin drg – ivermectin generic

  • Joshua Posted November 8, 2021 9:57 pm

    Hello mates, fastidious article and good arguments commented here, I
    am truly enjoying by these.

  • ClintonRop Posted November 10, 2021 10:20 am

    plaquenil mexico buy plaquenil – how much is generic plaquenil

  • ClintonRop Posted November 10, 2021 10:48 am

    prednisone capsules prednisone for sale – prednisone 20 mg generic

  • ClintonRop Posted November 11, 2021 2:36 am

    ivermectin 500ml stromectol 3mg tablets – ivermectin uk coronavirus

  • ClintonRop Posted November 11, 2021 3:03 am

    prednisone online paypal prednisone without dr prescription – prednisone 100 mg

  • türkçe Posted November 11, 2021 3:03 am

    I do accept as true with all the ideas you have offered in your post. Dynah Robinson Lattie

  • ClintonRop Posted November 11, 2021 7:41 pm

    buy generic zithromax online buy zithromax – buy cheap zithromax online

  • ClintonRop Posted November 11, 2021 8:22 pm

    prednisone 50 mg buy prednisone 20 mg tablet price – buy prednisone online usa

  • ClintonRop Posted November 12, 2021 1:31 pm

    zithromax capsules australia cheap zithromax – can you buy zithromax online

  • ClintonRop Posted November 12, 2021 2:00 pm

    prednisone 5 mg tablet prednisone without dr prescription – prednisone 4mg tab

  • ClintonRop Posted November 13, 2021 7:21 am

    cost of plaquenil in us plaquenil – plaquenil over the counter

  • ClintonRop Posted November 13, 2021 7:51 am

    ivermectin 2mg ivermectin 4000 mcg – oral ivermectin cost

  • takipçi satın al ucuz Posted November 13, 2021 8:55 pm

    Your style is really unique compared to other folks
    I’ve read stuff from. I appreciate you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just book mark this
    site.

  • ClintonRop Posted November 14, 2021 12:56 am

    generic for hydroxychloroquine 200 mg online doctor to prescribe hydroxychloroquine – plaquenil cost in canada

  • ClintonRop Posted November 14, 2021 1:28 am

    zithromax price south africa buy zithromax – zithromax for sale 500 mg

  • DavidCot Posted November 14, 2021 2:05 pm

    cialis online purchase canada coupons for cialis

  • DavidCot Posted November 14, 2021 2:32 pm

    cialis express delivery australia buy cialis in australia

  • DavidCot Posted November 15, 2021 6:07 am

    generic cialis cheap dapoxetine and cialis

  • DavidCot Posted November 15, 2021 6:31 am

    cialis trial coupon buy cialis with dapoxetine

  • JerryNen Posted November 16, 2021 11:49 am

    ivermectin 50 mg ivermectin price

  • JerryNen Posted November 16, 2021 12:16 pm

    cost of stromectol medication ivermectin 10 mg

  • JerryNen Posted November 17, 2021 3:34 am
  • JerryNen Posted November 17, 2021 4:01 am
  • Andreduems Posted November 18, 2021 5:58 am
  • Andreduems Posted November 18, 2021 6:24 am

    viagra vs cialis canadian viagra

  • Andreduems Posted November 18, 2021 9:22 pm

    blue pill viagra buy viagra online

  • Andreduems Posted November 18, 2021 9:53 pm

    viagra canada blue pill viagra

  • Roxie Posted November 19, 2021 6:35 am

    Everyone loves it whenever people come together and share
    opinions. Great site, continue the good work!

  • Andreduems Posted November 21, 2021 5:13 am

    buy cialis through paypal how much is cialis without insurance

  • Andreduems Posted November 21, 2021 5:41 am

    ed pills that work better than viagra ed pills that work better than viagra

  • Andreduems Posted November 21, 2021 9:05 pm
  • Andreduems Posted November 21, 2021 9:29 pm
  • Andreduems Posted November 22, 2021 11:22 am

    plaquenil generic drug hydroxychloroquine sulfate nz

  • Andreduems Posted November 22, 2021 11:48 am
  • takipçi satın al Posted November 22, 2021 10:26 pm

    Having read this I believed it was extremely informative.
    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put this
    short article together. I once again find myself personally spending a
    significant amount of time both reading and leaving comments.

    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  • Andreduems Posted November 23, 2021 3:55 am

    stromectol price us stromectol tab 3mg

  • Andreduems Posted November 23, 2021 4:25 am

    which is better cialis or levitra how much does cialis cost in canada

  • Andreduems Posted November 23, 2021 8:17 pm
  • Andreduems Posted November 23, 2021 8:49 pm

    ivermectin lotion cost order stromectol

  • Polly Posted November 24, 2021 12:22 am

    Thanks for every other informative site. Where else may
    just I get that type of info written in such a perfect way?
    I have a mission that I’m just now running on, and I’ve been on the look out
    for such info.

  • Andreduems Posted November 24, 2021 1:05 pm

    ivermectin price generic stromectol

  • Andreduems Posted November 24, 2021 1:32 pm

    30 day free trial cialis buy cialis south africa

  • Andreduems Posted November 25, 2021 5:47 am

    plaquenil depression hydroxychloroquine 200 mg tablet

  • Andreduems Posted November 25, 2021 6:18 am

    cialis with dapoxetine or viagra with dapoxetine better mastercard generic cialis

  • Davidgab Posted November 26, 2021 2:43 am

    tamoxifen therapy tamoxifen moa – tamoxifen bone pain

  • Davidgab Posted November 26, 2021 3:12 am

    does tamoxifen cause weight loss buy nolvadex – lexapro and tamoxifen

  • Davidgab Posted November 26, 2021 6:46 pm

    nolvadex for sale buy nolvadex – tamoxifen vs clomid

  • Davidgab Posted November 26, 2021 7:13 pm

    aromatase inhibitors tamoxifen buy nolvadex – tamoxifenworld

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *